Entreprises amies des abeilles déjà affiliées

Bee City Canada reconnaît ces entreprises et organisations sans but lucratif pour leur engagement en faveur de la protection des pollinisateurs.

Campbellford/Seymour Community Foundation

The work of Community Foundations already connects to many of the 17 Sustainable Development Goals as part of our international philanthropic movement. Community Foundations have an opportunity to further leverage our knowledge, partners and activities connecting our efforts locally to a broader vision to improve the world around us. We are proud to be designated a Bee Business – the first Community Foundation in Canada, the first business in Northumberland County, and the first business in the Municipality of Trent Hills. With this designation, as well as being considered a leader in our community and a partner with many other well-respected organizations and community groups, we would be in a position to influence and educate, as well as inspire others to protect our pollinators.

Oak Bay Golf and Marina

As a golf course located in a UNSECO Biosphere Reserve, it is important to remember that our business does not stand alone; it is a part of a wider ecosystem. As a Bee Business, we will commit to serving both our members and guests as well as the natural environment. We hope to set an example for other golf courses, turn knowledge into action, and close the gap between the sport we love and sustainability.

Luke Farrier Proulx Ltd.

Over the years, I have watched the rural properties surrounding our farm change hands and inevitably succumb to suburbanization. With each new, successive owner the lawns get bigger while large canopy trees are lost, shrubs are cut back and wildflowers cut down. The native habitat is being destroyed by an unwritten, unquestioned, culturally conditioned suburban code of conduct: mow the lawn, short and often.

The result is an ecological wasteland. Wildlife, birds and pollinators are disappearing along with their food sources, nesting sites and shelter before my eyes with heartbreaking, terrifying speed this diminished state becomes the new normal. And with that knowledge comes a responsibility to positively act for a greater good. Every business (and individual) has inherent, unique opportunities to advocate for the environment. Becoming a designated Bee City Business will allow us, as small business owners and committed individuals, to add our voice and actions to a collective chorus and amplify the simple, crucial message: protect the pollinators and their habitat – for our sake and theirs.

Central Lake Ontario Conservation

All pollinators, but especially native bees are extremely important to our ecosystems. They are a crucial component of our food webs and ecosystem communities as they have a huge impact on plant pollination and subsequent fruit/seed production. By becoming a Bee Business, we are honoured to join the two Bee Cities in our Watershed: the City of Oshawa and the Town of Whitby as together we speak for the bees. We look forward to continuing to advocate for the bees and educate our watershed residents about what and where to plant as together we can create and maintain spaces for our four-winged fuzzy pollinators. Everyone has the ability to make a difference because any sized garden can serve as a habitat island for pollinators: even a few planters on a balcony.

Les amis du parc Dorchester

Le groupe The Friends and Stewards of Dorchester Park rassemble des volontaires locaux ayant pour mission de restaurer, maintenir et protéger la nature du parc de la ville de Brampton au bénéfice des générations actuelles et futures des membres de la communauté, qu’il s’agisse des êtres humains ou de la faune et de la flore indigènes dépendant de cet espace naturel urbain. Le groupe fonctionne en tant que membre officiel du programme « Adoptez un parc » de la Ville de Brampton. Il reçoit les contributions des membres de la communauté, d’un consultant écologiste professionnel et de la Ville de Brampton.

B Sweet Honey Nature Co.

Marion et Richard Robertson sont propriétaires de B Sweet Honey Nature, une entreprise de production de miel. Après leurs débuts en tant qu’apiculteurs, ils ont vite compris que pour offrir aux abeilles un environnement et une nourriture les plus sains possible, ils devaient travailler sans pesticide et planter des arbustes, arbres et plantes indigènes. Sans le savoir, ils ont ainsi commencé à créer une pépinière spécialisée dans les arbres caroliniens, les arbustes et les plantes pour pollinisateurs. Marion Robertson, qui manie la plume avec autant de talent que la parole, explique dans l’un de ces articles récents :

"L’année dernière, nous avons lancé un programme de migration d’arbres assisté et élargi notre approvisionnement ontarien de semences. C’était une initiative importante que nous laissons maintenant s’épanouir dans le secteur horticole et au sein du grand public. Cette année, nous souhaitons développer notre production de miel en reprenant des principes agricoles classiques pour les utiliser d’une manière non conventionnelle. Nous voulons devenir une ferme pour pollinisateurs, et nous pensons que travailler pour les pollinisateurs, les abeilles indigènes et les abeilles à miel profitera à toute l’industrie apicole et horticole."

Bleu Lavande

Fondée au Québec en 2004, Bleu Lavande profite du microclimat de la Fitch Bay et de sa nature spectaculaire pour cultiver de la lavande (Lavandula angustifolia) et produire une gamme de produits pour le corps et pour la maison. Tous ces produits sont fabriqués au Canada avec des ingrédients d’origine naturelle uniquement. Ils ne sont pas testés sur les animaux, ne contiennent pas de parabène, de produits issus du pétrole ou de parfum artificiel. Bee City Canada est ravi de s’associer à Bleu Lavande pour promouvoir la protection des pollinisateurs!

cath-earth-sis

Véritable condisciple de la Terre, Catherine Dowdell est une arboriste agréée qui redonne de la vitalité à vos plantes. Elle est aussi horticultrice paysagiste Sceau rouge, professionnelle certifiée en aménagement paysager durable et en foresterie urbaine. Catherine compte de nombreuses spécialités, parmi lesquelles l’aménagement d’espaces verts durables, naturalisés et comestibles ainsi que la conception de jardins-forêts et de systèmes d’agroforesterie au moyen de pratiques biologiques et de principes écologiques.

In Our Nature

In Our Nature est une entreprise de création de jardins et d’espaces verts qui s’efforce de ramener la nature dans nos jardins et espaces verts. L’équipe de In Our Nature conçoit des jardins en mettant l'accent sur les plantes indigènes et la création d'habitats pour les pollinisateurs et la vie sauvage. In Our Nature imagine un futur où les espaces verts et les jardins ne seront pas uniquement conçus pour être beaux, mais aussi pour accueillir une grande variété de pollinisateurs et d'espèces sauvages afin d'assurer un environnement sain pour tous.

Les membres de l’équipe Marchés TAU

Les membres de l’équipe Marchés TAU sont de grands défenseurs de l'agriculture biologique. Ils ont pleinement conscience de l'importance de laisser un environnement sain aux générations futures et du rôle primordial des pollinisateurs dans le maintien d'un écosystème riche et diversifié. Pour protéger les pollinisateurs et la nature, ils organisent notamment des événements éducatifs dans leurs magasins et travaillent avec des organismes locaux pour encourager l'agriculture urbaine. 

l'Église Unie Greenwood

Il existe de nombreuses raisons pour lesquelles l'Église Unie Greenwood en Peterborough, Ontario, est appelée "église verte". La communauté a planté de nombreuses espèces pour les pollinisateurs, installé deux ruches sur son domaine, et en plus, elle se déplace dans le voisinage pour demander aux propriétaires d'éviter d'utiliser des pesticides. Bee City très heureux de compter l'Église Unie Greenwood parmi ses membres, en tant que première Communauté religieuse amie des abeilles du Canada.

Organic Grocer

Ce supermarché, installé en Colombie-Britannique, veut faire la différence dans la communauté de Surrey. Son but est de collaborer avec les établissements scolaires locaux afin de créer des jardins potagers pour les pollinisateurs. Il souhaite ainsi aider les élèves et les membres de la communauté à mieux comprendre l'importance et les besoins des pollinisateurs et la nécessité d’agir ensemble pour leur protection. Nous remercions chaleureusement The Organic Grocer de défendre les pollinisateurs et l'environnement.

Village des pionniers de Kawartha

Les visiteurs du village des pionniers de Kawartha, jadis exploitation agricole prospère devenue un lieu culte du patrimoine historique, sont invités à découvrir le métier d'apiculteur à la mode des pionniers! Le village regorge également de jardins et d’espaces naturels, tels que le parc environnemental et le parcours nature. On y retrouve des fleurs sauvages, des arbustes et des arbres indispensables pour les pollinisateurs.

Refuge pour la vie sauvage Wild at Heart

Wild at Heart est un organisme caritatif composé de bénévoles consacrant leur temps à la réhabilitation de la vie sauvage dans le nord de l'Ontario, en accueillant et en soignant des animaux blessés avant de les ramener dans la nature. L'organisme croit aussi que les visiteurs doivent être informés sur le rôle clé des pollinisateurs dans le maintien des écosystèmes. Ainsi, en 2017, un nouveau jardin pour pollinisateurs a vu le jour, et il est devenu le centre de nombreuses activités éducatives.

Le zoo de Calgary

Les parterres du zoo de Calgary accueillent des milliers de plantes indigènes riches en nectar, dont la floraison est variée dans le temps (et parfois se chevauche). Les formes des fleurs sont aussi différentes pour satisfaire les différentes populations de pollinisateurs. Les visiteurs du zoo ont également la possibilité de s'informer sur les pollinisateurs grâce à des panneaux d'interprétation, des programmes interactifs et des ateliers éducatifs. Pour toutes ces raisons, le zoo de Calgary a été reconnu en tant que première entreprise amie des abeilles d'Alberta..

West Queen West

West Queen West a gréé le premier paysage de rue de Toronto en installant, sur une partie de la rue Queen, de grands pots de fleurs et hôtels pour abeilles qui permettent aux pollinisateurs de se sentir chez eux au sein de la plus grande ville du Canada. Le BIA organise également des événements éducatifs durant lesquels les membres de la communauté peuvent découvrir comment jardiner en privilégiant les pollinisateurs. C'est pour toutes ces raisons que Bee City Canada a reconnu West Queen West première entreprise amie des abeilles.

L’objectif de Tees For Bees

L’objectif de Tees For Bees est de faire adopter cette cause par le plus grand nombre et de faire découvrir les abeilles et les pollinisateurs à tous les groupes qui n'en entendent jamais parler. Tees For Bees reverse également 10 % de ses bénéfices pour soutenir Bee City Canada et participe à des projets éducatifs communautaires et d’information des jeunes enfants.

Current Bee City Businesses

Bee City Canada recognizes these businesses and non-profit organizations for their ongoing commitment to protecting pollinators.

In Our Nature

In Our Nature is a natural garden and landscape design company which strives to bring nature back into our gardens and landscapes. They design and create gardens with a strong focus on native plants and creating habitat for pollinators and other wildlife. They envision a future where landscapes and gardens are not only designed to be beautiful, but also support a diverse population of pollinators and other beneficial wildlife to ensure a healthy environment for all.

Posy Lane Flowers

Posy Lane Flowers is a Toronto-based floral design studio offering flower subscriptions and made-to-order custom arrangements to the GTA. Locally grown and ethically sourced blooms are used for their stunning floral designs, which promise fresh and elegant flowers with lasting power. Many of these blooms come from small scale growers who specialize in unique, seasonal and heirloom varieties that are often not available through flower shops that rely on imported blooms. Posy Lane Flowers supports Bee City Canada by making a donation for every sale.

TAU Markets

TAU Markets are big proponents of organic agriculture. They are keenly aware of the importance of leaving a healthy environment for future generations and the critical role of pollinators in maintaining rich, biodiverse ecosystems. As part of their efforts to protect pollinators and nature, they will be hosting educational events at their five store locations as well as working with local organizations to encourage urban agriculture. 

Organic Grocer

This grocery store in Surrey, BC, wants to make a difference in their local community. Its goal is to collaborate with area schools to establish pollinator and edible gardens and, in doing so, help the students and other community members to better understand the importance of pollinators and the need to act together to protect them. We wholeheartedly thank the Organic Grocer for advocating for pollinators and the environment.

Kawartha Settlers’ Village

Visitors to Kawartha Settlers’ Village, a once thriving farm that is now a fascinating collection of historic homes, artifacts and buildings, can learn about traditional beekeeping, the way the pioneers did it! The village also features naturalized and garden areas, including Environmental Park and a nature trail, with wildflowers, shrubs and trees that are important to pollinators.

Wild at Heart Wildlife Refuge Centre

Wild at Heart is a charitable, volunteer-based organization whose dedicated team works to rehabilitate and return northern Ontario’s injured, sick, and orphaned animals back to the wild. The organization also believes in educating visitors about the key role of pollinators in maintaining thriving ecosystems and a new pollinator garden, which opened is 2017, is a focal point for many educational activities.

Greenwood United Church

There are many good reasons why Greenwood United Church in Peterborough, Ontario, is called a “Green Church.” In addition to the numerous plantings for pollinators and two hives on the large property, the community canvassed the neighbourhood to ask homeowners to avoid using pesticides. We are happy to designate Greenwood UC the first Bee City Faith Community in Canada!

The Calgary Zoo

The grounds of the Calgary Zoo host thousands of nectar-rich native plants, with varying and overlapping bloom times, and floral shapes to satisfy a diverse population of pollinators. Also, zoo visitors learn about pollinators through interpretive signage, interactive programs and educational workshops. For these and other reasons, the Calgary Zoo has been recognized as first Bee City Business in Alberta.

West Queen West

West Queen West created Toronto’s first bee-friendly streetscape, lining a section of Queen Street with large, artfully decorated, concrete planters and bee hotels that make pollinators feel at home in Canada’s largest city. The BIA also organizes educational events where the local community can learn about gardening for pollinators. For this, Bee City Canada has recognized West Queen West as the first Canadian Bee Business.

The Bee Shop

In addition to offering a wide selection of locally sourced, honey and bee products, The Bee Shop believes in educating the public about the importance and beauty of pollinators. Through their Young Beekeepers Club,  they teach children about plants, bee friendly gardening and beekeeping. Oliver Couto, the business owner, is also an instructor of beekeeping at Toronto Botanical Gardens and the Kortright Centre.

Tees For Bees

Tees For Bees creates buzz about saving the bees with some funky tee shirts. Their aim is to bring the cause to the mainstream and raise awareness among groups that would not usually be knowledgeable about bees and pollinators. They also donate 10% of their profits to support Bee City Canada and participate in community outreach projects and educating young children.